Leadership team
Our leadership team is made up of experts with military, national security, public and private sector experience.

Adam McCarthy

Chief Executive Officer and Co-founder
Adam served for over 13 years within the Australian Department of Defence and Special Operations Command Australia.

Adam was responsible for the delivery and operation of niche cyber and ICT capabilities including those that were standalone and sensitive in nature.

His experience includes work for the Australian Department of Defence, Australian Federal Police, Telstra Corporation, United States State Department and United States Department of Defense. He has served in multiple operations throughout Australia Pacific Region, Middle East and Asia.

Frank Santucci

Chief Technology Officer and Co-founder
Frank has a long career in the planning, delivery, and operation of secure networks, primarily within the Australian Department of Defence and Special Operations Command Australia.

As the CTO of ParaFlare he provides executive oversight in the application and delivery systems to support the ParaFlare Cyber Operations capability.

His experience includes Australian Defence Force, Department of Defence, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and Attorney General’s Office.

Brett Ireland

Chief Operating Officer

Sturt Maclennan

Chief Customer Officer

Noemi Simaki

Director of Operations

Andrew Noble

Director of Strategic Initiatives

Owen Walsh

Director of Managed Risk Services

Carlie Gibson

Director of Marketing and Communication

Kieran Deale

Director of Advanced Capabilities

Shellie Stewart

People and Culture Manager

John Baker

Head of Engineering

Paraflare Board

Marcus Thompson

Chair of the Board AND Strategic Adviser
Marcus Thompson is a retired Major General who served 34 years in the Australian Army. He served in a variety of command, regimental and Special Operations appointments. His final appointment was Inaugural Head of Information Warfare for the Australian Defence Force.

Marcus holds a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering with honours from the University of New South Wales, a Bachelor of Business from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, a Masters Degree in Defence Studies from the University of Canberra, a Masters Degree in Strategic Studies from Deakin University, and a PhD in Cyber Security from the University of New South Wales. He was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in the 2014 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Since leaving the Australian Army, Marcus has founded Cyber Compass Pty Ltd, an independent advisory focused on improving cyber security and developing sovereign Australian capability. He has worked with and supported several Australian entities, including Macquarie Technology Group, NAB, Bank of Queensland, Macquarie Bank, and the Melbourne Business School. He is the Chair of the Board of Penten, the Chair of the Board of ParaFlare, and a Non-Executive Director of Bank Australia.

Mandy Ross

Non Executive Director
Mandy Ross, Chief Information and Digital Officer of Super Retail Group has joined ParaFlare’s Board as Non-Executive Director. Mandy brings over twenty years’ experience in digital business, transformation and contemporary technology operating models across the Travel, Education, Gaming, Retail and Consulting industries.

Mandy is an executive-level technologist, strategist and board member – with a proven track record in digital business, technology delivery, transformation and contemporary IT operating models. Mandy is a progressive leader with a passion for value creation through technology, innovation, accelerating ICT performance, and winning together.For the past 15 years, Mandy has been responsible for all of the Technology, Information and Digital functions of the ASX-listed organisations she served.

Mandy has demonstrated excellence in leading cultural transformation programs, digital transformation programs, cybersecurity programs, and technology integration programs in support of mergers and acquisitions. Key achievements of these programs have ranged from increased productivity and agility, the introduction of new contemporary technologies and capabilities, through to enhanced cyber resilience and multi-million-dollar synergy delivery.

David Wakeley

Non Executive Director
David Wakeley is an experienced CEO and Non Executive Director with significant sales and marketing experience, building on an early career in chartered accounting.

David has held three CEO positions; Virgin Money Australia, Australian Institute of Management and finally Autopia (a vehicle financing scale up).

David is now engaged in a portfolio career as Non Executive Director ParaFlare (cyber security) and Non Executive Director Urbnsurf (surf parks), Bank Australia (retail banking) and in the capacity as a strategy consultant (focussed on scale up and transformation) as an executive coach.

Alex Hone

Non Executive Director
Alex Hone has more than 20 years investment experience having worked with leading global firms in both Sydney and London. His experience has included establishing and developing funds management businesses that in turn developed global reputations for investment excellence.

Alex was previously the founding CEO/CIO of Atrium Investment Management. Prior to this, Alex was a Portfolio Manager with Magellan Financial Group and with Capital Partners (now CP2), a specialist global investment advisory and management firm.

Alex commenced his career in the Treasury division of the National Australia Bank.

David Fairman

Non Executive Director
David Fairman is an experienced CIO/CSO/CISO, strategic advisor and investor. He has extensive experience in the global financial services sector.

David is currently the Asia Pacific CIO & CSO for Netskope helping customers manage their digital and cyber risk programs in addition to working across industry with the aim of making the digital economy a safer place to do business.

Furthermore, David is a Partner and CISO-in-residence at SixThirty Ventures, driving innovation and helping build great technology companies. Previously, David was the Chief Security Officer (CSO) at NAB owning all aspects of Physical Security, Fraud, Investigations and Cyber Security. Prior to NAB, he was the Group Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) for the Royal Bank of Canada. David has been a senior leader at JP Morgan Chase & Co and the Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS) having held several regional CISO and Global Head roles.